開展新蒙特梭利課堂

實際生活領域

實際生活活動類似於世界各地的最基本日常生活,如用水壺將水倒入玻璃杯、打翻東西後清 理、照顧植物以至縫補鈕扣。這個領域的活動都符合兒童程度,包括玻璃、陶瓷、木材和金 屬等多種物料的運用。

實際生活領域協助發展粗略和精細活動發展以及整體自我控制及平衡。實際生活活動透過對 孩子行為給予真實準確的結果,培養他們的集中力和認知。舉例而言,當他們用水壺倒水速 度太快,玻璃杯內的水就會溢出。

實際生活亦讓孩子有機會管理教室並為社群作出貢獻。他們發展出所需技能來管理工作空間、 整理清潔、為朋友安排食物、歡迎客人來到教室、清潔骯髒的桌子或是以畫畫或種植花卉來 裝飾環境。

實際生活的練習透過清楚連續的步驟促進邏輯思維,有助在身心上裝備學童應付日後需要集 中、邏輯和精細活動控制的學業。

感官領域

蒙特梭利明白,孩子透過感官認識世界,因此我們提倡自主學習;孩子必需自行探索,才能 真正了解周圍環境。

感官領域提供精準教材,以突顯自然環境 在並於日常生活應用的個別特質,例如長度、重 量、溫度、顏色、自然音階等。孩子可自由透過自己的方式了解這些材料,並掌握自己所發 現的事情。

每個活動都事先加入錯誤之處,讓孩子運用自己的理由、關鍵知識和能力來找出錯處,他們 可藉此相信自己的推理能力,並自行找到答案和解決方法。 此外,孩子有充分機會將新學習的知識應用於周圍環境。舉例而言,試味瓶可讓孩子辨別鹹、 甜、酸、苦。孩子隨後可在用餐時和烹飪課探索這些味道,繼而擴大加深他們與世界的連繫。

數學領域

蒙特梭利相信,算術與讀寫能力同樣重要。學習數學算術技巧應與學習說話、書寫和閱讀同 樣為基本需要。

數學教材由淺至深呈現多種特質給予孩子。教材準確、具有基本概念、鼓勵探索,並配有各 自的錯誤示範。

孩子首先學習數 0 – 9999,隨後就學習相應的數 表述,數 就擁有意義和份量。然後孩 子就會學習加法、減法、乘法和除法。起初這些算術會利用具體的感官材料,然後慢慢轉向 更為抽象的算術概念。

語言領域

在蒙特梭利的環境之下,語言可視為孩子的創造力。孩子自行學習說話,就會以同樣方式自 行學習書寫和閱讀。孩子基於從周圍環境中吸引到的知識以及在該環境中的參與和投入程度, 來建立自己的語言學習機制。

我們透過多種不同方法,開展並持續進行提升語言能力的活動。透過說故事、詩詞、歌曲、童 謠和增加詞彙的活動,可辨別出語言的聲音,並迅速聯想到相應 母。這個知識讓孩子自行學 習建立發音、書寫和閱讀。逐步向孩子講解更艱深的英語技巧,提升語言流利程度。當孩子可 流暢閱讀時,就會教授他文法和句子結構概念。 西貢蒙特梭利提供雙語課程(普通話和英語)。普通話課堂及教材與上述英語課程內容相同。

The main areas of the Montessori classroom

The Practical Life Area

Practical life activities resemble the most basic everyday tasks found all over the world, such as pouring water from a jug to a glass, sweeping up a spill, caring for plants and sewing on a button. The activities of this area are child size and are made up of a variety of materials including glass, ceramics, wood and metal.

The Practical Life Area assists in the development of gross and fine motor movement and the overall control and coordination of self. Practical Life activities foster concentration and awareness by providing real and accurate feedback based on the child's own actions. For example, if they pour water from a jug too fast they will over flow the receiving glass and spill the water.

Practical life also affords children the opportunity to become stewards of their classroom and functioning members of a community. They develop the skills needed to manage their work space, tidy up, serve a friend something to eat, welcome a guest into the classroom, wash a table that is dirty or embellish the environment by painting a picture or making a floral arrangement.

Exercises in Practical Life promote logical thinking by having very clear and successive steps to a process. They help to prepare the child both physically and mentally for later academic works where concentration, logic, and fine motor control are needed.

The Sensorial Area

Montessori understands that children experience the world through their senses. This is why we advocate independent learning; the child must do the work of exploration themselves to truly understand the world around them.

The Sensorial Area provides precise materials that isolate for a single quality present in nature and used in everyday life. For example; length, weight, temperature, colour, diatomic scale, pressure etc. The children are free to explore these materials in their own way and to take ownership over the discoveries they make.

Each activity has an inherent control of error that allows the child to use their own reason, critical faculty and capacity for drawing distinctions. This prepares the individual to trust their own powers of reasoning and to find answers and solutions by and for themselves. Additionally, the child is given ample opportunities to apply their newly acquired knowledge to the environment. For example, use of the tasting bottles brings the child to the identification of salty, sweet, sour, and bitter. The child can later explore these qualities during meal times and cooking class thus expanding and deepening their connection to the world.

The Mathematics Area

Montessori believes that numeracy is just as important as literacy. The building blocks for understanding the numerical techniques of mathematics should be as foundational as the building blocks for learning how to speak, write and read.

The mathematic materials have many properties that are presented to the child in order of increasing complexity. They are accurate, hold foundational concepts, encourage exploration and possess their own control of error.

The children learn first to recognise the quantities 0 - 9999 and then the corresponding numerical representations (i.e. numbers). In this way numbers possess meaning and weight. The children then learn how to manipulate these numbers with addition, subtraction, multiplication and division. At first these manipulations occur with the use of very concrete sensorial materials, but slowly the manipulations become more abstract.

The Language Area

Within the Montessori environment language is viewed as the child's creation. In the same way the child taught himself to speak he will teach himself to write and to read. The child creates his own facility for language based upon what he absorbs from his environment and his level of participation and engagement within that environment.

We begin, and continue, with language enrichment activities through the use of a variety of means. Through story telling, poems, songs, rhymes and vocabulary enrichment activities the sounds of our language are isolated and quickly associated to their corresponding letters. With this knowledge the child teaches himself to build phonetic words, how to write and then how to read. Increasingly more difficult keys to the English language are presented to the child to facilitate fluency. When the child is a fluent reader the concepts of grammar and sentence structure are presented to him. Sai Kung Montessori offers a bilingual program (Putonghua and English). The Putonghua lessons and materials mirror those of the English language section described above.